YouTube Tip – Smart Restart Of An Upload

You may or may not know this already, I found it was an unwritten (so far as I know) and obscure sort of thing for which the interface doesn’t hint or provide info.

If you cancel an upload half way through, and come back to it later and upload the same video file, Youtube DOES know what video it is and will pick up where it left off, saving you time and upload bandwidth! It will also save any description, title or other settings that you entered prior to the cancel (saves title and description at minimum).

I found this useful since we have really slow internet in general and brutal upload speeds. When I found the video causing slowness when browsing, I just canceled the upload and decided to upload it later. I basically stumbled upon the functionality when the next time I tried to upload it, it remembered where it left off!

Not sure why they don’t advertise this or have a PAUSE button on it which would do the same because they obviously already have the logic on the backside for it.

Regardless, handy option to have if you know its there!

Maybe you knew it was there already??

This post has already been read 1118 times!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.